Of Chocolate

21 07 2008

Hi Sugary People,

Huda here! I have got to share with all of you the baking/frying I did over the weekend! 😉

I had a sudden craving for chocolate and fried goodies, so I sent my sister,KLS, to the shop to buy a packet of corn flour and 2 bars of Mars Bars (!!).

Thank goodness, I had a bit of milk left!

Fun Trivia: Fried Mars Bars craze started in Scotland! Creative people aren’t they?

Here is the recipe:

Fried Mars Bars
(Adapted from: http://www.recipezaar.com/43463)

1 Cup of Plain Flour
1/2 Cup of Corn Flour
1 tsp of Baking Soda
1/2 Cup of Milk (Estimated*)
2-3 Bars of Mars Bars
Oil for frying

This is a “throw everything” into the bowl recipe.
If you want, you can sift the flour(s) first.

1) Add the dry ingredients together and then add the milk.
2) Add more milk if you feel the batter is too stiff, but don’t make it too liquid. 8)
3) Chop your mars bars, or if you are lazy just break them into pieces.
4) Once your oil is ready, (in my case) I added all the pieces into the batter and fry 3-4 pieces at a time.
5) Take them out once they turn golden brown.

Make sure you eat them while they are still pipping hot and check that no one is around to steal them! I know because even though TLS (my 2nd sister) kept saying, “it’s okay-okay”, she ate 3 pieces!

If you a big fan of the fried mars bars sold at Far East, the difference in texture compared to the recipe above, is that I suspect they use beer in the batter to make it smoother. 😛

Happy trying!:D


Actions

Information

One response

1 09 2008
Saudah Osman

Wah! dah try new recipe tak forward kat sengkang… kasi lah try…

Leave a comment